About Us


The National Pan-Hellenic Council is a collective of nine historically African- American fraternities and sororities. The nine organizations are sometimes referred to as the “Divine Nine.” The council promotes interaction through forums, meetings, cooperative programming, and initiatives throughout campus.

The National Pan-Hellenic Council at Texas Tech University began in 1970 with the arrival of the Eta Lambda chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. In the following year, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. chartered the Zeta Tau chapter at Texas Tech. The Eta Upsilon chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. joined the campus in 1972, followed by the Xi Eta chapter Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. in 1975. Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. chartered the Iota Upsilon chapter at Texas Tech in 1979. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity,Inc. came to Texas Tech in 1993. Currently the Texas Tech National Pan-Hellenic Council consists of six of the Divine Nine organizations.